DDW News


Congratulations to the DDW Basic Science Travel Award Recipients

Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) is thrilled to congratulate the recipients of the DDW Basic Science Travel Awards. Twenty basic scientists were selected from a pool of 257 applicants to receive a $1,000 travel grant to attend DDW 2017.

Expert members of DDW’s sponsoring societies worked together to select the award winners, who are early-career researchers serving as first or presenting authors of basic science abstracts accepted for presentation at DDW 2017. A full list of the award winners can be found below.

Attendees can learn more about the work being performed by these innovative researchers by attending their abstract presentations at society forums and at the DDW Basic Science Quick Shots session on Saturday, May 6, from 4 to 5:30 p.m. in Room S102D. The session will be moderated by Dr. Joseph Murray and will be immediately followed by a special reception from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.in the S104 lobby. Don’t miss this opportunity to meet and congratulate these rising stars of basic science research!

DDW 2017 Basic Science Travel Award Winners

Curtis Adams, Research Assistant, Massachusetts General Hospital

Abigail Basson, T32 Postdoctoral Fellow, Case Western Reserve University

Nina Bertaux-Skeirik, PhD Candidate, University of Cincinnati

Prasad Dandawate, Postdoctoral Fellow, The University of Kansas Medical Center

Zenab Dudhwala, PhD Student, University of Adelaide Basil Hetzel Institute

Nour Eissa, PhD Candidate, University of Manitoba

Melinda Engevik, Postdoctoral Fellow, Baylor College of Medicine

Moira Hilscher, Gastroenterology Fellow, Mayo Clinic

Lindsey Kennedy, Ph. D. Student, Texas A&M Health Science Center

Ferdinand Knieling, Resident, University Hospital Erlangen

Bettina Kunze, Researcher, ATV

Lei Liu, PhD. Candidate, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Kelly McDaniel, PhD Candidate/Research Technician, Texas A&M University

Anne Meyer, Graduate Student, Vanderbilt University

Leticia Moreira, MD,PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Pennsylvania

Takahiro Shimizu, Research Fellow, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Joshua Thompson, MSTP Student, Vanderbilt University

Daniel Triner, MD/PhD Student, University of Michigan Medical School

Kelly Whelan, Research Associate, University of Pennsylvania

Winnie Zou, MD/PhD Student, Baylor College of Medicine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *